New York Anti Text Message Laws

In the fall of 2001 former New York Governor, George miriamalbero, signed a bill forbidding drivers from speaking on their cellular phones even as riding. New York changed into the primary country to enact this kind of law. The best exception to this law changed into that drivers may want to use fingers loose microphones (or a Bluetooth in recent times). Beginning on December 1, 2001 any motive force inside the nation of New York caught talking on his or her cell smartphone even as riding would be issued a price ticket for $100.

As the primary kingdom to enact this sort of law New York obtained a variety of attention. Eventually, several other states observed in New York’s footsteps and passed similar laws of their very own. However, inside the years following the passage of New York’s cellular telephone regulation a new communique trend started. Text messages and the usage of different hand-held communique gadgets had been becoming more and more popular. Unfortunately, New York’s Law did not limit texting and using. It only banned talking and riding.

The first momentous push for a Text Messaging Ban commenced in June of 2007. In Upstate New York 5 teenage ladies have been in an SUV headed down the motorway. When the driving force all at once veered into oncoming site visitors and collided with a big rig. While investigating the crash, it become discovered that the motive force had sent and received text messages in the moments earlier than the crash. All five girls died inside the crash, just a few days after they graduated high faculty.

Many counties feared similar crashes would take place with out a law banning texting even as riding. Since, it become now not going to be enforced on a state degree many counties took matters into their very own fingers. In 2008, Westchester and Nassau counties had been the various first to pass legal guidelines. Westchester County began an education marketing campaign in nearby excessive colleges to inform new drivers of the law. County officials felt the law might advantage younger drivers. The more youthful, extra green drivers have been a part of the text message era and that they felt a ban on textual content messaging whilst using assist new drivers pay attention.

On August 27, 2009 Governor David Paterson signed a bill that would ultimately ban drivers from text messaging at the same time as driving on a statewide degree. In addition to textual content messaging the regulation additionally bans the use of any portable electronic devices at the same time as using. The law was put into effect on November 1, 2009 and breaking the regulation effects in a pleasant of as much as $150. However, the law is taken into consideration a secondary offense. Meaning, if a cop sees a driving force text messaging even as stuck in site visitors on the Brooklyn Queens Expressway the cop can’t pull the driving force over and issue her or him a price ticket. If however, the cop witness the driver dashing at the BQE and text messaging the driver can be pulled over and issued a price ticket for both offenses.

You may also like...